Locations & Contacts
Checking Accounts
Savings Accounts
Business Accounts
About Us

AboutFirst State Bank of the South

First State Bank of Lamar County is a community bank established April 20, 1973 in Sulligent, Alabama.  The Board of Directors originally consisted of nine (9) members: Ted Boyett, Chairman, Joseph A. Milner, B.F. Boyett, Dennis Boyett, Dr. W.C. Box, Dave Fine, C.R. Gilliam, J.W. Spearman, and Judge C. H. Strawbridge.  

 In 1974, B.F. Boyett replaced Mr. J. Milner as President/CEO and retained that position until his passing February, 1999.  Mr. Boyett was succeeded by his son John F. Boyett and Basel Mixon, who served as Co-Chief Executive Officers until Mr. Basel Mixon’s retirement in March 2005.  Currently Mr. John F. Boyett serves as the banks CEO and Chairman of the board of directors and Mr. Scott Boman serves as the banks President. 

In March 1976 the Beaverton, Alabama office was opened.  The branch served our customers for over 39 years before closing in 2015.  In July 1992 First State Bank opened its third office in Hamilton, Alabama and is currently managed by Mrs. Dana Scott.  November 1996 saw the banks fourth office open under the management of Mr. Jerry Williams in Winfield, Alabama.  The bank changed its name to First State Bank of the South, Inc. in November 2004 to allow for expansion into new markets.   In 2008 First State Bank opened it's fifth office in Northport, Alabama and is currently managed by Derrell Obrient.  In 2017 First State Bank opened a new branch in Athens, Alabama and is currently managed by Ray Neese.

Today, First State Bank offers full service banking to its customers.  The primary goal of the bank is to serve its customers, as well as the community with dedication, efficiency and a friendly smile. 

The current Board of Directors consist of nine (9) members. Those members are John F. Boyett, Chairman,  J. Basel Mixon, Scott Boman, Jerry Williams, Kermit Minga, Jim Northington,Hugh Windle, Rita Grayson, and Tim Wadsworth .

Back to the top